The Maze Runner

The Maze Runner (2014)

Rating: PG-13

Director: Wes Ball

Doing my “Best YA Movies” post I decided to  do a review for “The Maze Runner” because it is one of my favorite YA movies. I know you’re probably thinking, why wold he  enjoy such a movie? Well, I can’t exactly explain that to you, I don’t know why I like this movie, I just do. I guess since I read the books and loved them so much, I just have a soft spot for this series. But I will not let my admiration for this movie influence my movie rating, I will still give this movie a fair rating.

So the Maze Runner takes place in the future where Thomas (Dylan O’Brien) finds himself in the “glade” a farm-type place in the center of a ginormous labyrinth. There are several other boys in the glade trying to find their way out of the glade, but strange things begin to happen when Thomas arrives… for instance, a girl?

Now, this movie is not that good… the directing is pretty crappy and the acting is dull. But the plot was amazing and so was the scale of the movie. You just see the huge-ness of the maze and you’re thinking that’s a freaking huge maze. Also this movie has some awesome action scenes.

The thing that most people didn’t like about this movie was that it was just a huge setup for the sequel, and I agree with that. Based on a book or not, you still need to make at least a  bit of a resolution to the movie.

Another thing that i didn’t like about this movie was that the first and second act were actually good but when we get to the third act it just all goes downhill. More and more questions go unanswered, the story just takes a sharp turn in the wrong direction.

So guys, even though I loved this movie I still have to give it a fair rating which is:

C+

Leave a Reply

