Best YA Movies

With the next movie in the Divergent series: Allegiant coming out soon I decided to list the best YA movies. Now I know that YA movies have a reputation for being crappy crash-grabs for teenagers, but there are some out there that just happen to be pretty good. Now I will not be basing these movies on the quality of their books, it doesn’t matter if the book was the best in the world, I am basing these on MOVIE QUALITY. And of course I am eliminating all of the Twilight Saga books because of my extreme hate towards that franchise. I am also eliminating all of the Harry Potter movies because if I didn’t they would probably be the only movies on the list. So without further ado the top 5 YA movies:

5. Divergent

I am not a big fan of the Divergent series, and to be honest, I didn’t really enjoy either of the movies very much. But the acting in the movie was adequate and the directing and cinematography were okay, and  this movie did have a pretty good plot. But the execution for this movie was not great and the special effects were very unappealing.

 

4. Maze Runner: Scorch Trials

Since I am a big fan of the Maze Runner books I probably like these movies a little more than I should. But the Scorch Trials does a good job of getting you hooked to the story, but then it goes and gives you a massive cliffhanger. One thing that I liked about this movie was that it makes you root for the main characters.

 

3. The Hunger Games

I am known to be a hater of the Hunger Games Franchise. But I must admit the movie does have good quality acting and a decent plot. One of my favorite things about this movie was that they did not overuse special effects. This movie did a good job at telling a story and it was decent… just not my type of film.

 

2. The Maze Runner

Yeah this movie wasn’t that great, you could criticize me for liking them, you could call it a guilty pleasure, my response to that is… I… Don’t… Care! I don’t care if these movies sucked, I still loved them, and there’s nothing anyone can do to tell me otherwise.

 

1. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

I’m ashamed to admit it… this is the best of the YA movies thus far (Excluding the Harry Potter movies). This movie had good cinematography, good directing, good acting, even though I may hate the plot and hate the story, I cant help but to admit that this was a good movie.

Thanks for reading everyone, hope you enjoyed this content, be sure to follow the blog for more.

Leave a Reply

